The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

Winding down the Summer September 15, 2013

Filed under: allergies,Thoughts,Writing — Cynthia @ 3:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

It’s September and the last days of summer are winding down. School is back in session even for those who are homeschooling their children like me.

It’s been an odd summer this year. In my part of the country, we’ve had a lot of rain and temperatures, that while very hot, did not last for days at a time. In all a very pleasant summer. I am probably the odd duck out, but I love warm rainy days.

The golden rod, stick weed, and iron weed have outdone themselves in glorious colors of gold and purple. My allergies are also in full bloom as I enjoy them through blurry eyes and a stuffed up, runny nose. 

My part of the world seems to slow down this time of year. The garden is producing the last of it’s summer bounty. Now is the time to start on the fall crops. This year we have a high tunnel to extend our growing season. I’m looking forward to having fresh greens in the middle of the winter.

The leaves on our trees are just beginning to see some color around their edges, but are still pretty much full lush greens. I love the crisp coolness of the fall and the crackling of leaves as I walk. I am hoping for a fall as lovely as the summer has been.

