The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

A to Z Challenge: Reflections May 2, 2013

calm-water-3

Reflections

Well the challenge is over. I made it. Twenty six posts written a to z.

When I signed up for this challenge I really wasn’t sure what exactly I was getting myself into. I am not a writer by a long stretch. I’m not even sure how I even found the challenge.

I like challenges that keep me thinking. It’s as important to keep your mind exercised as it is the rest of your body. My mind was pretty mushy at the start.

Well I thought about it for awhile. I already had the challenge of making a piece of jewelry a week for a year, and I had two other jewelry challenges on top of that. I also have a full time job working 2nd shift at a hospital and I have a home and family to take care of too.

So why did I join? I wanted to prove to myself that I could write if I set my mind to it. Yes it was a challenge. First off, I have the crappiest internet ever. The only time I could post without getting disconnected was after 2 am in the morning. Any other time it was hit or miss. This alone would have frustrated anyone. I am a stubborn person; I was not going to let it defeat me before I even started.

I did not have a theme like many did, so I went with what I knew and what I liked and hoped it was interesting enough that someone else might also like it enough to come back.

At the beginning of the challenge, I took the advice someone had written and wrote my entry ahead of time, this help tremendously. Next time I will try and write more posts ahead of time. Some of the letters were very hard to write about.

Overall, I am really glad that I did this challenge.   I am going to do my best to write more on my blog since I have over 300 followers now. With this challenge I’ve discovered so many new blogs that I don’t believe I would have found otherwise and maybe made a friend or two.

I am looking forward to participating in next year’s challenge. I am not sure I will have a theme. I kind of like the freedom of randomness.

See you in the Sock Zone……………..

Vortex

 

 

13 Responses to “A to Z Challenge: Reflections”

  1. Beth Lapin Says:

    And it was great fun to read your posts!!!

  2. Janice Heck Says:

    Congratulations on finishing A to Z despite the hurdles you faced. Let’s do it again next year! So nice to meet you here.

  3. cyril Says:

    Good work…Nice to read over..

  4. Janice Heck Says:

    Congratulations on finishing A to Z. Now good luck on the May Challenge to Blog Every Day! I many join you in this craziness.

  5. Yvonne Lewis Says:

    Congratulations on your completion of the challenge, and well done on getting more followers.
    Yvonne.
    A TO Z AMBASSADOR.

  6. Found you on this reflection post. One would think I had plenty of time to visit everyone, but alas it was not the case. Look forward to reading you in the future.

  7. Congrats on finishing the Challenge! This was my third A to Z Blogging Challenge but my first year having a theme, and it was much easier planning and writing my posts ahead of time. I’ll probably have a theme next year, too.

    Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  8. There is something about randomness that I like. Great job. Well done.

  9. Great job finishing the challenge! This was my first too, I’m looking forward to next year.

    Connie
    Peanut Butter and Whine

  10. Trisha Says:

    Gosh, and I thought MY internet sucked! Yours totally takes the cake from mine. 😉 Well done on getting through the A to Z challenge. I feel that my brain was way mushier by the end of the month than at the beginning. 😉

  11. Congratulations on finishing the 2013 A-Z.
    I’m dropping in by way of the Reflection list – since visiting blogs was seriously restricted due to time constraints I am now enjoying the offerings post-challenge via this list.

    I like your determination, not letting the internet deter your efforts was quite rewarding… good on you!

    Reading your interest in the ‘randomness’ of not having a theme made me smile – I’m a huge fan of winging it, which I did in 2011 and again this year – loved it.

    In 2012 I was a co-host and really had to have my posts done in advance so I could focus on my duties. I missed the spontaneity of thinking and posting the day before. If you go that route next year you will be in for a fun time.

    It’s always great to read when bloggers have met new friends and increased their blogging circle – happy times. Enjoy!

    Jenny @ PEARSON REPORT


Comments are closed.