The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

A to Z Challenge:T is for Tortoise April 23, 2013

Filed under: A to Z challenge — Cynthia @ 1:45 am
Tags: , , , ,

Day 20 of the A to Z Challenge: T is for Tortoise.

I have two tortoises that have lived with me for about 15 years now. When I first acquired them I thought they were males and gave them the names Darth Vader  and Tom. When they started laying eggs I realized that I needed to change their names. They are now Dartha and Tomi. I never seem to have normal animals. Their favorite food is cat food with an occasional tomato.  They love to sit in their water dish. Tomi loves to be petted and will stretch her neck out as far as she can. Dartha would rather be left alone and hides in her shell. Yep silly tortoises.

Dartha and Tomi

Dartha and Tomi

 

8 Responses to “A to Z Challenge:T is for Tortoise”

  1. I’d always thought they looked the same, yet now I can see how distinct they are. Fifteen years is a long time to get to know animals. If they were dogs or cats, they might not have still been with you.
    Francene.
    A – Z Challenge
    http://francene-wordstitcher.blogspot.co.uk/

  2. Beth Lapin Says:

    Ah, we are very close to using the same animal today!
    Beth
    http://bethlapinsatozblog.wordpress.com/

  3. Awww, they’re so cute. I actually had a baby tortoise visit my classroom this morning! 🙂

  4. This is awesome since I just wrote a poem about two turtles on my blog for T. They are so adorable. Love turtles.

  5. What a lovely pair they are! Interesting diet…but whatever works, right? I had no idea they could live 50 years–that’s amazing!

  6. […]  https://blueflute.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/a-to-z-challenget-is-for-tortoise/ […]


Comments are closed.