The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

A to Z Challenge: K is for Kalanchoe April 12, 2013

Day 11 A to Z Challenge: K is for Kalanchoe

While searching for a real cool K word because I was stumped by this one, I came across this flower with its succulent leaves. I’d love to be able to grow these but my zone is 6 and these are suited for zone 11 and 12.

Kalanchoe is a perennial flowering plant that is native to South America. It can also be found in China, Africa and Madagascar. The plant has been naturalized to the Caribbean, the Pacific, and warmer regions of Asia.

Michel Andanson (a French botanist), first documented this plant in 1763. The scientific name is Kalanchoe. Some common names include Katakataka, miracle leaf, Goethe plant and air plant.

Kalanchoe flowers can grow 3ft-20ft in height. It blooms seasonally with bell-shaped flowers in yellow, white, salmon, pink and scarlet. Its leaves are a dark green.

kalanchoe

 

These plants are a favorite because they bloom for long periods of time and the clusters can last for many weeks, even without water. They grow best in tropical climates. It is drought tolerant, and should get plenty of light. A reddish color will usually appear on the leaves when it is getting a sufficient amount of light.

 kalanchoe leaves

Blooms should be removed regularly to encourage the plants to continue flower. Kalanchoe plants should be watered on a semi regular basis. If you are looking for a plant that is easy to grow, these can be left unattended for long periods of time.

 

6 Responses to “A to Z Challenge: K is for Kalanchoe”

  1. This post brought back some great memories of working in a flower shop. Kalanchoes are a popular potted plant to send because they are so hardy. 🙂

  2. Looks wonderful! My garden is waiting for me. I need to get to it!
    preciousmonsters dot.com

  3. I think, but I am not certain…I have seen these in Palm Springs. Lots of heat there..again, not certain. Thank you for such an interesting and informative post!!

  4. Super cool. I want to see one that’s 20 feet tall!

  5. K.Jacqleene Says:

    Love these. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Beautiful plants; low maintenance = my kind of greenery. Happy A-Zing, moonwynd


Comments are closed.