The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

A to Z Challenge Day 9: I is for Ivy April 10, 2013

Filed under: A to Z challenge — Cynthia @ 2:52 am
Tags: , , , ,

My mom loved Ivy. She grew English Ivy and would plant it everywhere that grass wouldn’t grow, up until it would start taking over the other plants in her garden. Guess who always had to dig them up when they got out of hand.

english-ivy

As a kid I hated Ivy, It seemed to take on a life of it’s own. As I got older, I started to love how it covered problem spots and always stayed green. Most of those problem spots were on hills so I didn’t have to mow them. If those hills had been covered in grass, I’d never been able to get it cut. Ivy also grows well on trees, walls, you name it.

Ivies (Hedera), are a genus of 12–15 species of evergreen, climbing or ground-creeping woody plants in the family Araliaceae, native to western, central and southern Europe, Macaronesia, northwestern Africa and across central-southern Asia east to Japan and Taiwan.

Ivy is considered to be an invasive plant that’s hard to kill off. It grows well in all kinds of soil and all kinds of light. Once it gets a foot hold it’s very hard to kill off. It’s a beautiful plant, but you have to keep it under control.

To this day, I think of my mom whenever I see ivy growing.

 

4 Responses to “A to Z Challenge Day 9: I is for Ivy”

  1. Beth Lapin Says:

    My mom had a thing about English ivy, too. It still grows all over the front yard, even though she passed away six years ago.

  2. My grandma grew ivy and I always think of her when I see it. 🙂

  3. I love Ivy, it’s nice that you have such a simple reminder of your Mum!


Comments are closed.