The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

A to Z Challenge: G is for Gum April 8, 2013

Today is day 7 of the A to Z challenge. G is the letter and G is for gum.

Chewing gum has been around for over 5000 years. Tooth imprints with bark tar in them have been found.

Chewing gum is made of chicle, a natural latex product, or synthetic rubber known as polyisobutylene. There are sixty brands of chewing gum on the market today from all over the world.

I remember growing up and walking down to the local candy store. Candy and gum were just a penny a piece.These days bubble gum is twenty five cents a piece and a pack of gum can be as much as two dollars.

Gum has always been one of my favorites. Bazooka Bubble Gum by Topps, Wrigley’s Juicy Fruit, Clark’s Teaberry and good ol’ gum balls are classic gums that are still available today. While the taste is great the flavor just doesn’t last in these gums.

Gum
Gums are packing a lot more flavor these days and I just love the Extra dessert gums by Wrigley’s. Sugar-free and just beyond yummy for a gum chewer like me, and I can blow small bubbles with it too. Wonderful tasting like the desserts they are named after. Orange Creme Pop, Apple Pie, Mint Chocolate Chip, Strawberry Shortcake and Key Lime Pie, Root Beer Float and Rainbow Sherbet. I’ve heard rumors that they are discontinuing Key Lime Pie
extra-dessert-gum
They’ve even come out with another flavor “Lemon Square”, I finally got a chance to taste this one, I think it’s the best so far.

lemon square
Five calories and not the guilt of eating dessert! I love it! I wonder if they’ll come out with German chocolate cake? While I’m at it, who do I contact for the free advertising?

 

5 Responses to “A to Z Challenge: G is for Gum”

  1. becsym Says:

    Oh my I did not think it possible to suffer from “Chewing Gum Envy” but why do we not have dessert gum in the UK? I am certain that we are missing out! … In all seriousness the pace of your peice was fab and I enjoyed it greatly…. I just have to log in to my email now and pester Wrigley’s. Great G – from one A to Zer to another

  2. deb Says:

    OK, I have overlooked the dessert gum at check out! I will now take notice. Lemon bar gum, here I come!

    Thanks for sharing!

    wearinglemon.blogspot.com

  3. orneryswife Says:

    I am sorry to say I haven’t been able to chew gum for many years. TMJ is not a fun experience. I remember chewing it a lot in high school though… much to the teachers’ dismay! 🙂 Happy G day!
    tm

  4. Joe Owens Says:

    I love gum too! I love the flavor and the way it can spice up your mouth. I had no idea about all these other flavors though. Thanks for enlightening me!

  5. I’ve never been a big gum chewer, but with all the new flavors I need to try some again!

    Stopping by from the A-Z Challenge!


Comments are closed.