The Sock Zone

A little bit of random

A to Z Challenge: F is for Fruit April 6, 2013

Day 6 of the A to Z challenge is the letter F. F is for fruit.

So you want to lose weight. Fruit is not the way to go. At least not by itself. I always thought that fruit was an excellent choice for dieters. What could be better then something from nature?

Turns out fruit is loaded with sugar (fructose) , but with the right fresh fruit you can add dietary fiber to your diet. The body doesn’t absorb the fiber, it passes through the system taking toxins out with it. Since fiber slows the absorption of sugar. It helps glucose levels in the blood normalize. Fiber makes you feel full longer and thus eat less.

imagesfruit1

Apples, pears, kiwi, papaya and bananas are an excellent source of fiber. But if you really want to lose the weight stick with vegetables like raw broccoli, cauliflower and green leafy vegetables like spinach. Cut down or eliminate starchy vegetables like potatoes. Avoid sugary vegetables like peas and high fat fruit like avocados.   Being aware of what you eat is half the battle of healthy dieting.

 

9 Responses to “A to Z Challenge: F is for Fruit”

  1. Jen HaHA Says:

    I love fruit but rarely go out to get it. If a bowl of it is placed before me, I will eat it all. I need to make more effort!

    Check out my A to Z! Jen Hemming and Hawing Again

  2. DayDreamer Says:

    Good post. I must try to keep to the 5 a day rule, but I also need more fibre so will try to eat more of the pears and papaya which are both yummy.

  3. Pete Denton Says:

    I do try and eat a balanced diet, including a decent amount of fruit, avoiding the sugary ones.

    I stopped by from the A to Z Challenge list. Can you believe we’re at the end of the first week already? I’m glad to have tomorrow off!

    Good luck with the rest of the alphabet. 🙂

  4. Good post. Veggies are best, but fruit in moderation is a nice change up getting fiber. Fruit juice is a diet killer. So easy to over-do.

  5. JoJo Says:

    Fruit is the only reason I ever look forward to summer. And I do enjoy an avocado a couple times a year.

  6. Chris Says:

    Why is everything that tastes good not so good. All things in moderation, I just wish I could practice what I preach.

  7. The Brown Recluse Says:

    I’ve been low carb since August..and yes, fruit is quite “carby.” I do eat small quantities, though. I’ve lost over 80 pounds.

  8. Tarkabarka Says:

    I LOVE fruit! All kinds, in any amount. I snack on it more than on chocolate or candy. Whee!
    Happy A to Z!

  9. Joe Owens Says:

    I love apples, oranges, bananas, peaches and especially watermelon! Even if they aren’t necessarily low fat I like them for the natural sweetness.


Comments are closed.